The GODFREY HOUSE, built in 1849, is located at the corner of University & Central Avenues SE in Chute Square, Minneapolis.
- Dandelion Day celebrates Harriet Godfrey’s introduction of dandelion seeds to the St. Anthony Falls area.
- Learn how to make dandelion necklaces, bracelets and crowns, just as Helen Godfrey did as a child.
- Have a dandelion painted on your cheek or chin, or get a temporary tattoo!
- Take home a complimentary recipe booklet which includes recipes for dandelion coffee, tea, salad, and wine, and learn other ways “teeth of the lion” were used throughout history.
- Free Godfrey buttons for the kids.
- Tour the charming yellow Ard Godfrey House with guides dressed in 1850s period costume.
- Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
- Restored by The Woman’s Club of Minneapolis, it has been open to the public since 1979.
Dandelion Day marks the beginning of the summer tour season at the Ard Godfrey House. Dress appropriately for the weather, as there may be waiting lines outside.
Tours are available June 2 - August 26, Saturdays and Sundays only, 1:00 - 4:00 pm. No admission fee is charged, donations are welcome.
Special group tours may be arranged year ‘round for a fee by contacting Muriel (612-781-8791). Visit www.womansclub.org for more information.
The Ard Godfrey House is partially wheelchair accessible on the main floor, but has the restrictions of a historic home. Please call Muriel (612-781-8791) one week in advance to make arrangements for guests with special needs.